Sounds Right

This is clearly subjective, but some words really sound like the thing they describe (personal favorites: puffin; bulbous; fidgeting). Do you have an example of such a word (or, alternatively, of a word that sounds like the exact opposite of what it refers to)? What do you think creates this effect?

My favourite word that sounds exactly like what it describes is ‘plop’. Hahaha! It gets me every time. I just love it – it’s childish, funny and almost always refers to the act of pooing. It’s guaranteed to make my five year old laugh, and I try to emphasise the end ‘p’ as much as I can for maximum effect. Plop!

On the other hand, I always think the word ‘hark’ sounds more like a description of a noise, rather than the act of listening. I think it should mean ‘to sing a long, operatic note’, like this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jyO2eRlMbyI

Pingback: The Daily Post: Sounds Right

One thought on “Sounds Right

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sounds Right | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

