A Bookish Choice

A literary-minded witch gives you a choice: with a flick of the wand, you can become either an obscure novelist whose work will be admired and studied by a select few for decades, or a popular paperback author whose books give pleasure to millions. Which do you choose?

This is easy for me, I would choose to make millions of people happy and make lots of cash while I’m at it. I know a lot of ‘proper’ writers would prefer to have their work make a difference, but given that I am not a talented writer, nor do I plan to write for a living – if I knew I could work hard for a few years and live off the success for a while I think I would take it.

It has got me thinking about what I am trying to achieve by writing though. I have always enjoyed getting my thoughts down on to paper / screen. I have kept a diary on and off since I was nine and my Mum said as soon as I could hold a pencil I was copying anything I could find just to get the practice. Keeping a blog has been a struggle for me the last couple of years, I tend to lose confidence and delete it after coming to the conclusion that it’s a load of drivel. That’s why this time I thought I’d keep in anon, and I do feel I can write more freely safe in the knowledge that nobody knows who I am *mwa ha ha!*

Two of my friends have self-published in the last two years, and as much as I was so happy for them (they’ve both put a lot in to writing them, maintaining their blogs for more than six months and everything!!) there is a part of me that is so envious. I would love to write a book one day, but I have absolutely no idea what about. I haven’t a good enough imagination for fantasy and I am not knowledgeable enough for non-fiction. I suppose it would need to be a coming-of-age type thing if anything. I have no idea. I thought starting a blog would help me to write more regularly and this Daily Post thing is a great excuse to get my brain going. But I don’t imagine myself writing for a living, or for the money. More for the sense of achievement. I suppose I should concentrate on writing a long-form blog post first?!

Pingback: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/a-bookish-choice/

Leave a Reply

